10p0 - L'Exploration

Exploration is the foundation of learning. To explore is to travel through a known or unknown area, without knowing exactly where this route will lead. We can use all of our senses to embark on this deepening process, in this phase of creation where anything is possible. The exploration techniques are innumerable, because more than ever, the techniques available to us offer us a panoply of possibilities ranging from the traditional to the most contemporary. In creation, exploring goes through many paths, where the stages overlap and intertwine. We reflect, observe, we document, we analyze, we experiment.

The team

Israel L'Italien

Micael L'Italien

Wendy Moran

Alexis Quesnel

Élodie Trudel

The contributors

Alessandra McGovern

Alexy Préfontaine

Alice Picard

Alix Neyvoz

Amélie Haeck

Andrée-Anne Mercier

Armands Freibergs

Atelier Bang Bang

Audrey Beaulé

Camille Perreault

Camille Pomerlo

Caserne

Catherine Sabourin

Charles Desmarais

Charlotte Ratel

Chloé Biocca

Cybèle B. Pilon

Demande Spéciale

Dérapage

Edgar Lopez-Asselin

Éloïse Carrier

Émile Lord Ayotte

Esteban Jordan

Étienne Aubert Bonn

Fadi Bergeron

Florian Pétigny

Franco Égalité

Gabriel Paquet

Gabriel Sabourin

Gildas Atchinak

Hugo Hugo

Isadora-Ayesha Lima Fortin

Juliette Duhé

Juliette Dupont Duchesne

Laura Charette

Léa Pradine

Luc Verreault

Marie Le Moigne

Marie-Sarah Bouchard

Mathieu Larone

Nick Ibrahim

Olivier Charland

Philippe Mahtieu

Pier-Philippe Rioux

Pierre-Alexandre Noël

Samuel Lauzon

Sasha Royal

Sodome & Gomorrhe

Tounü

Vincent Hurtubise

Vincent Tourigny

William Thibault

Xavier Cyr

Digital submissions

Alexy Préfontaine - The Eye

This creation is first and foremost intended to be an audiovisual exploration. In fact, it's one of the first times I've experimented with motion design, especially limiting myself to primitive forms in order to create a more abstract and less figurative visual. The idea behind this creation was to design a simple animation exploring the shape of the eye. Having finally completed the visual, it seemed necessary to me to give it more personality by accompanying it with a soundtrack. So I composed it by evoking a story where certain sounds are produced in response to the variations that occur in the animation. These serve to accentuate the story and create a progression throughout it. Sounds are produced using a Korg Minilogue, an analog synthesizer. Combined with the rather calm and meditative frame, these sounds help to give the visual a certain nostalgic atmosphere. Finally, the result then becomes a short minimalist visual waltz in which the form, reduced to a primitive essence, is altered over the course of the music.

Amélie Haeck

Exploration may be about putting together colors, shapes, objects and sound. Exploration may be about making calculated or haphazard choices. My exploration was perhaps only a way to freely escape the bland 9 to 5. My exploration was perhaps a reason to create in an uninhibited and unpretentious way during the long months of January, February and March.

William Thibault

In this piece, the exploration aims to highlight the contrast between different shapes and materials. The cold and reflective metal object arouses sobriety and minimalism. As for him, the line of fur brings a touch of delicacy to the whole. Thanks to well-controlled lighting, the fur gains interesting color variations and it feels very soft to the touch. On the right-hand page, the enlargement of the composition aims to highlight the micro details that give the work a remarkable subtlety. Basically, the concept grew out of a little sketch on the corner of a page. Several months later, by dint of contemplating it, a 3D version took shape. By exploring different lighting techniques, this chiaroscuro approach stood out from the crowd, giving the composition an effect that was both majestic and mysterious. The water droplets that run along the metallic shape, like a soft drink advertisement, are little details that add a sensitivity that is also found in fur. The desire to come and titillate the viewer to touch the texture of the fur is the main goal of this work.

Armands Freibergs

A work in progress animation where I invite
the viewer to experience the fabricated "behind" the scenes of contemporary digital 3D animation process and speculate whether the value of production stages can surpass or can be seen as the "final" product itself and edit it toge-ther in a way to form a previously unseen truth as Dziga Vertov strived to do so 1929 in his movie "Man With A Movie Camera".

Theme launch

1p0_Typographie
2p0_Transformation
3p0_Processus
4p0_Espace
5p0_Perception

10p0 - L'Exploration

L’exploration est à la base de l’apprentissage. Explorer, c’est parcourir une zone connue ou méconnue, sans savoir avec exactitude où ce parcours mènera. Nous pouvons user de tous nos sens pour se lancer dans ce processus d’approfondissement, dans cette phase de la création où tout est possible. Les techniques d’exploration sont innombrables, car plus que jamais, les techniques mis à notre disposition nous offrent une panoplie de possibilités allant du traditionnel au plus contemporain. En création, explorer passe par de nombreux chemins, où les étapes se chevauchent et s’entremêlent. Nous réfléchissons, observons, nous documentons, nous analysons, nous expérimentons.

L'équipe

Israel L'Italien

Micael L'Italien

Wendy Moran

Alexis Quesnel

Élodie Trudel

Les collaborateurs

Alessandra McGovern

Alexy Préfontaine

Alice Picard

Alix Neyvoz

Amélie Haeck

Andrée-Anne Mercier

Armands Freibergs

Atelier Bang Bang

Audrey Beaulé

Camille Perreault

Camille Pomerlo

Caserne

Catherine Sabourin

Charles Desmarais

Charlotte Ratel

Chloé Biocca

Cybèle B. Pilon

Demande Spéciale

Dérapage

Edgar Lopez-Asselin

Éloïse Carrier

Émile Lord Ayotte

Esteban Jordan

Étienne Aubert Bonn

Fadi Bergeron

Florian Pétigny

Franco Égalité

Gabriel Paquet

Gabriel Sabourin

Gildas Atchinak

Hugo Hugo

Isadora-Ayesha Lima Fortin

Juliette Duhé

Juliette Dupont Duchesne

Laura Charette

Léa Pradine

Luc Verreault

Marie Le Moigne

Marie-Sarah Bouchard

Mathieu Larone

Nick Ibrahim

Olivier Charland

Philippe Mahtieu

Pier-Philippe Rioux

Pierre-Alexandre Noël

Samuel Lauzon

Sasha Royal

Sodome & Gomorrhe

Tounü

Vincent Hurtubise

Vincent Tourigny

William Thibault

Xavier Cyr

Volet numérique

Alexy Préfontaine - L'œil

Cette création se veut d'abord et avant tout comme étant une exploration audiovisuelle. À vrai dire, c'est une des premières fois où j'expérimente avec le motion design, surtout en me limitant qu'à des formes primitives dans le but de créer un visuel plus abstrait et moins figuratif. L'idée à la base de cette création était de concevoir une animation simple explorant la forme de l'oeil. Ayant le visuel finalement complété, il m'est apparu nécessaire de lui donner davantage de personnalité en l'accompagnant d'une trame sonore. Je l'ai ainsi composée en évoquant une histoire où certains sons sont produits en réponse aux variations qui se produisent dans l'animation. Ceux-ci servent à accentuer l'histoire et à créer une progression tout au long de cette dernière. Les sons sont produits à l'aide d'un Korg Minilogue, un synthétiseur analogue. Combinés à la trame plutôt calme et méditative, ces sons contribuent à donner au visuel une certaine ambiance nostalgique. Enfin, le résultat devient alors une courte valse visuelle minimaliste où la forme, réduite à une essence primitive, se voit altérée au fil de la musique.

Amélie Haeck

L’exploration c’est peut-être d’assembler des couleurs, des formes, des objets et du son. L’exploration c’est peut-être de faire des choix calculés ou hasardeux. Mon exploration c’était peut-être seulement une façon de m’échapper librement du fade 9 à 5. Mon exploration c’était peut-être une raison pour faire de la création de façon décomplexée et sans prétention pendant les longs mois de janvier, février et mars.

William Thibault

Dans cette pièce, l’exploration a pour but de mettre en valeur le contraste entre différentes formes et matériaux. L’objet en métal froid et réflectif suscite sobriété et minimalisme. Quant à lui, le tracé de fourrure apporte une touche de délicatesse au tout. Grâce à un éclairage bien contrôlé, la fourrure gagne des variations de couleur intéressantes et elle parait très douce au touché. Sur la page de droite, l’agrandissement de la composition a pour but de mettre de l’avant les micros détails qui donnent à l’oeuvre une subtilité remarquable. À la base, le concept naquit d’une petite esquisse sur le coin d’une page. Plusieurs mois plus tard, à force de la contempler, une version 3D pris forme. En explorant différentes techniques d’éclairage, cette approche clair-obscur s’est démarquée du lot, donnant à la composition un effet à la fois majestueux et mystérieux. Les gouttelettes d’eau qui coulent le long de la forme métallique, tel une publicité de boisson gazeuse, sont des petits détails qui ajoutent une sensibilité que l’on retrouve aussi avec la fourrure. Le désire de venir titiller le spectateur à toucher la texture de la fourrure est le but principale de cette oeuvre.

Armands Freibergs

A work in progress animation where I invite
the viewer to experience the fabricated "behind" the scenes of contemporary digital 3D animation process and speculate whether the value of production stages can surpass or can be seen as the "final" product itself and edit it toge-ther in a way to form a previously unseen truth as Dziga Vertov strived to do so 1929 in his movie "Man With A Movie Camera".

Lancement de thème

Magazines

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Noir Vimeo Icône

© 2020 par Pica Magazine